Under agreements reached when the Locarno treaties were signed, the occupation of the Rhineland has been so reduced as to be little more than a formality. Nevertheless it remains a matter of sentimental importance to the German people, and negotiations looking to an earlier evacuation than scheduled may be expected to recur. (See "The Ruhr Occupation," by Nicholas Roosevelt, FOREIGN AFFAIRS, Vol. IV, No. 1.)

The dotted area represents German territory occupied by the Allies under the Versailles Treaty. The region north of the line A-A-A was to have been evacuated Jan. 10, 1925, but actually was not liberated until Jan. 31, 1926. The district between A-A-A and B-B-B is scheduled for evacuation in 1930, and the remainder of the dotted territory in 1935.

The extensions east of the Rhine represent territory occupied by the French and Belgians, including "Sanctions" and other temporarily held zones, as follows:

1. Emmerich, occupied by Belgians, now evacuated.

2. The Ruhr, occupied by Franco-Belgian troops, evacuated August, 1925. Divided into the so-called "Sanctions Territory," seized March, 1921, and the remainder of the Ruhr basin occupied in 1923.

3. Cologne bridgehead, occupied by British and French.

4. Coblenz bridgehead, formerly occupied by American troops, now held by the French.

5. Mainz bridgehead, occupied by the French.

6. Frankfurt territory, occupied by the French in April, 1920, and evacuated that same month.

7, 8, 9, 10, 11. Zones temporarily occupied by French, now evacuated.

12. Offenburg, temporarily occupied by French, now evacuated. Kehl, opposite Strasbourg, is occupied under terms of Versailles Treaty.

You are reading a free article.

Subscribe to Foreign Affairs to get unlimited access.

  • Paywall-free reading of new articles and a century of archives
  • Unlock access to iOS/Android apps to save editions for offline reading
  • Six issues a year in print, online, and audio editions
Subscribe Now