Courtesy Reuters

Ecuador is no stranger to political turbulence. In the last three decades, 13 heads of state have ruled the country. Some only lasted a few days. Others managed to complete their terms. Two were ousted by popular revolts, and one was ejected by a coup. So the relatively stable rule of President Rafael Correa, who took office in 2007 and was reelected by a 30-point margin in last week’s election, has been nothing if not an anomaly. Correa has become Ecuador’s first president to serve three consecutive terms.

This year's electoral campaign was relatively low-key, and it centered on the

This article is part of our premium archives.

To continue reading and get full access to our entire archive, you must subscribe.