Courtesy Reuters

WITH the passage of the Statute of Westminster by the London Parliament last December the era of the development of dominion autonomy was brought to a successful conclusion. Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, the Irish Free State and Newfoundland are now completely self-governing countries, having travelled -- in a period of time very short in the life of states -- the whole distance from colonies controlled direct from London to equal partners in a free association of nations. No further constitutional changes of fundamental importance may be expected in the future, for there are now no legal or political

This article is part of our premium archives.

To continue reading and get full access to our entire archive, you must subscribe.