Courtesy Reuters

The Government of Ireland Act of 1920 partitioned Ireland, giving Ulster the six northeast counties. In the following year the Anglo-Irish Treaty was signed, creating the Irish Free State. Article 12 of this treaty provided that if the Ulster Government availed itself of the right to remain outside the Irish Free State, a Commission of three should be set up, consisting of one representative of the British Government (who should act as Chairman), one of the Free State Government, and one of the Ulster Government, to determine the boundaries of the six-county Ulster area known officially as "Northern Ireland." The Ulster Government

This article is part of our premium archives.

To continue reading and get full access to our entire archive, you must subscribe.