In This Review

Politics in America
Politics in America
By D. W. Brogan
Harper, 1955, 467 pp

Written in the first instance for his countrymen--"to make the American political system intelligible"--this book by a leading British historian has a great deal of interest for the American reader. Extraordinarily informed on American history and society, Mr. Brogan has the ability, in the tradition of Tocqueville and Bryce, to make us see aspects of ourselves and our political life more clearly than we can do on our own.