Capsule Review

Political Leadership in NATO

In This Review

Political Leadership in NATO

Political Leadership in NATO
By Robert S. Jordan
Westview Press, 1979, 316 pp. $20.00 Purchase

A rather straightforward account of the first four secretaries-general of NATO-Lord Ismay, Paul-Henri Spaak, Dirk Stikker and Manlio Brosio-which can be read in conjunction with the author's earlier book on the NATO international secretariat. With détente, superpower arms control and the partial transfer of the East-West competition to the Third World, the role of NATO's secretary-general may be diminished.

Related Articles

This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. Click here to learn more.